Synod Council

The role of the Synod Council, as specified in the NEOS constitution, is to:

  • Exercise trusteeship responsibilities on behalf of this synod.
  • Recommend program goals and budgets to the regular meetings of the Synod Assembly.
  • Carry out the resolutions of the Synod Assembly.
  • Provide for an annual review of the roster of ordained ministers and of other official rosters, receive and act upon appropriate recommendations regarding those persons whose status is subject to reconsideration and action under the constitution and bylaws of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America, and make a report to the Synod Assembly of the Synod Council’s action in this regard.
  • Issue letters of call to ordained ministers and letters of call to associates in ministry, deaconesses, and diaconal ministers as authorized by Chapter 7 of the constitution and bylaws of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.
  • Fill vacancies until the next regular meeting of the Synod Assembly except as may otherwise be provided in the constitution or bylaws of this synod, and determine the fact of the incapacity of an officer of this synod.
  • Report its actions to the regular meeting of the Synod Assembly.
  • Perform such other functions as are set forth in the bylaws of this synod, or as may be delegated to it by the Synod Assembly.

Council members are elected at the Synod Assembly. The NEOS constitution stipulates that it consist of four officers (the Bishop, vice president, secretary and treasurer), 10 to 24 other members, and at least one youth and at least one young adult. Further:

  • Each person elected to the Synod Council shall be a voting member of a congregation of this synod, with the exception of ordained ministers on the roster of this synod who reside outside the territory of this synod. The process for election and the term of office when not otherwise provided shall be specified in the bylaws. A member of the Church Council of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America, unless otherwise elected as a voting member of the Synod Council, may serve as an advisory member of the Synod Council with voice but not vote.
  • The term of office of members of the Synod Council, with the exception of the bishop and the youth member, shall be three years.

Current Synod Council Roster (2020-2021)

Conference Deans

As specified in the NEOS constitution, the bishop appoints one member of the rostered clergy in each conference to serve as the conference dean. “The dean shall organize the conference rostered persons, and act as the representative of the bishop in the conference. Specific duties of the dean shall be determined by the bishop and mutually agreed, with general guidance and approval by the synod council.”

Current Deans:

Akron-Wooster: Pastor Doug Fidler
Canton-Massillon: Pastor Bruce Roth
Cleveland East: Pastor Don King
Cleveland West: Pastor Sherman Bishop
Eastern: Pastor Erin Burns
Richland-Ashland: Pastor Scott Henderson
Southern: Pastor Steve Patrick

Monthly Conference Meetings for Rostered Leaders:

Akron-Wooster: Third Thursday, at 10:00 a.m., via Zoom (contact Pr. Doug Fidler)
Canton-Massillon: Last Tuesday, at 11:00 a.m., hybrid Zoom/in-person (contact Pr. Bruce Roth)
Cleveland East: Second Thursday, at 10:00 a.m., via Zoom (contact Pr. Don King)
Cleveland West: First and Third Thursdays, at 9:00 a.m., via Zoom (contact Pr. Sherman Bishop)
Eastern: Mahoning Cluster meets first Monday, 7:00 p.m. (contact Pr. Erin Burns)
Richland-Ashland: Second Tuesday, at 9:30 a.m., via Zoom (contact Pr. Scott Henderson)
Southern: Every Tuesday, at 11:00 a.m., at Emmanuel, New Philadelphia (contact Pr. Steve Patrick)